An undo feature?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
An undo feature would be extremly useful.
I was just editing my site (therecipebook.yolasite.com), and as you will notice if you visit it, the "comments" link at the bottom of each of the pages is a dead link. I was making a new page, and i accidently pressed the wrong button and it deleted all of my progress. I could, in hindsight, have saved it every so often, but it was quite a small page, but I didn't and so, I think that you should have an undo button. It would be much more convenient. If you were to do a survey, you would find that this has probably happened to most people many times
Photo of Will

Will

  • 224 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
  • dissapointed

Posted 8 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Guido Graphics

Guido Graphics

  • 558 Posts
  • 41 Reply Likes
After making a mistake, you can:

without saving, change to a different page.
A box will open asking to save changes, click no.
go back to the page in question and it will be like it was the last time it was saved.
Photo of Will

Will

  • 224 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
I dont really edit a page after i first make it. In this case, i made the page, added a load of text, pressed the wrong button and i had to do it again
Photo of a1web UK

a1web UK

  • 174 Posts
  • 24 Reply Likes
Yes but "Guido Graphics", we lose everything we spent time doing on the page if we move to another page without saving.
A undo feature would mean only having to re-do the last little bit of editing and not the whole session over again.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hello Will

I'm sorry that happened to you and I would feel frustrated if I was in that situation.

I can certainly see the value in having your work saved automatically. I will pass this along to our development team.
Photo of a1web UK

a1web UK

  • 174 Posts
  • 24 Reply Likes
sorry but an auto save feature is no good either because we might not decide to save what we have done in a session and decide we cwant to leave it as it was before editing that session.
But if auto save was to keep saving every 5 or 10 minutes or so .. then we would lose our previous design before editing.

Saving should be fully manual option .
Photo of UK Duke

UK Duke, Champion

  • 3321 Posts
  • 213 Reply Likes
Hi WIll,

It would be usefull, remember if your using a text editor you can right clcik and select undo.

Lee.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Thanks Lee for pointing that feature out :)
Photo of Will

Will

  • 224 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
thats my point. It was a new page and most of the time, when i make apage, i dont really visit it again.
Photo of mendyblock98

mendyblock98

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
i also have that problem i do what Guido Graphics said
Photo of a1web UK

a1web UK

  • 174 Posts
  • 24 Reply Likes
you lose all of the work thats been done in that session, when instead you could just undo the last number of actions if we had an undo option and one that let us go back enough times and not just once.
Photo of kev

kev

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
just done loooooooaads of typing about 3 hours worth then accidentally deleted the widget as I fell tired..... arghhhhhh undo button????????????????????
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Oh that is terribly frustrating. This is something we have considered a great deal over the years and I'm sure it's something we will continue to revisit as our team has brought up a number of pros and cons as far as usability goes. One thing that might help as far as large amounts of text is concerned is to always save it in a backup file on your computer. I'm so sorry for your loss. I know from personal experience that what I come up with the second time is never quite the same as what I wrote originally.