Can a site have more than one person editing at the same time?

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 10 years ago
I think yola may be a great tool for my students to create work online! The idea is that they will all have individual passworded pages and some shared pages for collaboartaive work (like a wiki). But will Yola allow them al to be logged in at teh same time fro editing?
Photo of hudson_m4000

hudson_m4000

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 10 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Marije

Marije, Official Rep

  • 4636 Posts
  • 237 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Mark,

Great question! You can definitely let more than one person edit your site at a time, however they would all need to use the same login email and password to access this account. Unfortunately we don't yet have a feature where you can setup multiple logins and passwords to edit the same site.

If people are working on the same page of the site and try to save it, they will get a message that there is another version of the page that has been saved (ie. someone else is working on it).

Let us know if you have any other questions!
Photo of hudson_m4000

hudson_m4000

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Excellent! I will be trying this out as soon as college restarts in September, maybe just with individual pages for each student - where I set up passwords so I can access too to view & grade their work!

Many thanks

Mark
Photo of Marije

Marije, Official Rep

  • 4636 Posts
  • 237 Reply Likes
Great! Just to be clear, a Yola account has one login email address and password. You can also password protect a site and this also has one login and password (see this link for more detail: http://cs.yola.com/admin.php?pg=kb.pa.... It sounds like you would like to create individual Yola accounts for each student where they would get their own login details.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hi Mark

A word of caution - I attempted to do this with a site, allowing various users to enter in as s/he pleases. The problem I ran into though, was even though the message tells you that a previous version of the page has been saved, you can still go ahead and save on top of it. Then, what ends up happening, is you end up deleting the work that the previous person worked on.

So, you could do "save page as" which would save your page as a new page. This can create more work as you'll have to transfer some of the content over to the other page if you want to blend the work together.

It got very frustrating.

So, my workaround was this: I actually set up a chat box and I only allowed 1 person in the site at a time instead of simultaneously. Allowed for much better control. They all still have the same login info and password. Just that they had to say they were signing into the chat room first before actually logging into the site. Once done, they would sign off in the chat room.

I noticed that you said you may just assign a page to each user.. if that's the case, then perhaps my caution is not necessary as no one else will be using that particular page at the same time.

Also.. you'll need to be sure that no one "updates" the site as this may cause some work to be lost if the page has not been saved in time.

If you want to see an example of the chat box log in page, you can see this at http://yolatestsite.yolasite.com or http://yolacodes.yolasite.com (look under members for this link)
Photo of hudson_m4000

hudson_m4000

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Thanks for all these replies - great Yola & community support!

I will try it and see how it goes one page per student.

Mark