can I delete my site and recreate it later with the same url?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 9 years ago
  • Answered
I have two sites registered under one account. I need to transfer one of them to someone else, I understand that at this point I cannot do this so I was thinking of deleting one and recreating it under a new account. Will I be able to recreate it with the same URL? I really don't want to have to notify everybody who has the link of a site change.
Photo of Teena

Teena

  • 19 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • unsure

Posted 9 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Peter

Peter

  • 2569 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes
Hello Teena,

The answer is yes you can.

I did this same thing last week. In fact I deleted it of one of my accounts and then opened another account using the same URL.

I can see a potential problem in that if it's a likely name there is always the possibility that someone grabs it before you do.

I think you'll be fine though.
Photo of Teena

Teena

  • 19 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
thanks Peter, it's not a url that is likely to be snatched up quickly, i was just wondering if there might be a delay in the url being re-available. Even though I've deleted the site it might take synthasite a few days before their records reset that the url is available again.
Photo of Peter

Peter

  • 2569 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes
You're welcome Teena.

I did the whole deletion and then taking it up again within a few minutes so it seems instantaneous or next to.
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Hi Teena - If it is SynthaSite Subdomian then it will be available immediately.
Photo of Teena

Teena

  • 19 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Perfect, thank you so much. off to go delete and re-create :)