Deleting domains

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
I have 2 domains, i want to delete 1 of them but a warning tells me that it is my primary domain and if i delete it my site will be un-published. My concern is will this effect my other domain tht i want to keep?
Photo of Incident FD Command

Incident FD Command

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Gop

Gop

  • 7473 Posts
  • 2115 Reply Likes
Hi,

Unless the 2 domains are linked unpublishing one won't affect the other. So if the other domain was linked to the one that you wish to unpublish, then it too will disappear.
Photo of Incident FD Command

Incident FD Command

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you for your response, how can i tell if they are linked? I want to keep one of the web sites but not the other, the one i want to get rid of is my primary domain so they say. even though the one i want to keep was my first web site i created. Doesnt make sence to me.
Photo of Gop

Gop

  • 7473 Posts
  • 2115 Reply Likes
OK. I'll try and explain.

Say you have bought 2 domains: mydomain.com and myfavourite.com

You then created a site with Yola and published it to myfavourite.com. After some time you felt that ourdomain.com would be a better domain name for recognition. So now you also publish it to ourdomain.com. Yola then asks you to nominate the primary domain and you say myfavourite.com because many old loyal fans know this domain name and you don't want to lose them but your new domain name ourdomain.com is the name that you are more recently promoting.

What happens is that if a person types in myfavourite.com they will obviously go directly to that domain. If one of your new followers types in ourdomain.com, the system seamlessly pushes the selection to myfavourite.com. Both users see the same site but in reality it is myfavourite.com. OK?

Now if you then decide that you want to do away with myfavourite.com by unpublishing that site. You would in effect destroy access for your ourdomain.com followers. The solution to this is to then change the primary domain myfavourite.com and make it ourdomain.com. Then you could unpublish myfavourite.com and ourdomain.com would remain. So what you have done is switched your primary and secondary domains and then unpublished your secondary domain. (This will release that domain so that it is available for publishing another site to)

The setting of primary or secondary domain isn't locked in time. It can be done at anytime.