Deleting my Yola website ......

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Answered
Hi there

I now have a new web site set up which I have hosted with 123-reg. However I have kept the website domain name registered here with Yola.

I am looking to remove all content hosted here at Yola and i'm guessing the best way to do so it to 'delete site' in site settings.

I just want to check that this wont cause any problems with the fact that I am still using the domain name for the new site.

im sure this is all fine I just wanted to check as the message that pops up seemed quite serious

"If you have a site in your account that you no longer need, you can easily delete it. Please be sure you want to do this, as once a site is deleted there is no way to recover it!
If your site is published, deleting your site will also cause it to become unpublished. If you published to a subdomain, this will release the subdomain and make it available for public use. If you published to your own domain, you will still be the owner of that domain and you will be able to publish another site in your account to that address."

Thanks for any help
Photo of Andrew Morrison

Andrew Morrison

  • 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Stefan

Stefan, Official Rep

  • 4448 Posts
  • 190 Reply Likes
Hello Andrew

If I understood you correctly, you have a website with 123-reg and a custom domain with us which you point to your website with 123-reg, is that right?

If so, then no other website you have in your Yola account can be published to your domain with us because only one website can be published to a domain at the same time (while you can publish multiple domain names to one website).

So if this is the situation, deleting your Yola websites should be fine. The warning you quoted above is just to make you aware of the fact that once your Yola website has been deleted, you won't be able to restore it.

Please let me know if this doesn't answer your question.
Photo of Andrew Morrison

Andrew Morrison

  • 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
thankyou stefan,

that did help, I have not deleted the site with no problems to the new one.

Thanks again