Dont want saved changes on live web site

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Answered
I made changes to my web site however did not Publish the changes to the Web. Even though I saved the changes can I revert back to the site that is currently live?
Photo of jw_marketing

jw_marketing

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 7 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Gop

Gop

  • 7473 Posts
  • 2115 Reply Likes
Hello jw_marketing,

There isn't a site save undo facility.

You may of course remove any newly added material and re-save. This will effectively undo changes depending on the extent and what you remember doing since the last re-publish.

If this is a critical requirement you certainly may ask support@yola.com if their engineers are able to wind back your changes. I don't know if they even have that facility but worthwhile asking as I have mentioned.
Photo of Stefan

Stefan, Official Rep

  • 4448 Posts
  • 190 Reply Likes
Hi jw_marketing

There is no option to undo savings in the Yola Sitebuilder.
If you want to first test changes, you can save the current state of your page under a different name by using the "Save Page As" option from the main menu in the Sitebuilder. If you don't like the changes later, you will still have access to that "archived" page and replace the changed page by the archived page.
Photo of Desiree Finkbeiner

Desiree Finkbeiner

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I wish I'd known this prior to screwing up the html on my site. I accidentally 'double clicked' the html widget and pasted some java script, saving the changes- then realized that is screwed up my entire site. Now images are not showing properly all over the site!!

my banners disappeared and the text columns are out of whack. I've spent months on my site, and ONE stupid mistake screwed up all my hard work. Now I don't want to publish those changes but Yola does not have an option to "revert" to previously published website version.

Will a feature like this ever exist?

Problem is, when I tried to double click on the html widget again, so I could delete the java script I added, it was not showing in the widget so I could not simply delete it as if i had dragged and dropped the widget directly into the page builder.
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Hi Desiree,

We have discussed a feature allowing members to revert back to the published version of their website and it is something we may add in the future. It is a massive undertaking however and as such is not currently planned. In the meantime we suggest you make use of a test page or even a separate test site when you are adding custom code as Stefan indicated.

While we are not be able to revert your website back to the published version, if you are still struggling to remove the corrupted code, our HTML team may be able to assist you. Please link the page it is on and we will take a look.
Photo of Desiree Finkbeiner

Desiree Finkbeiner

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I ended up just rebuilding most of it LOL. Oh well. It forced me to make a better page than it was before, so maybe it was meant to be. Thank you :)
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Well that's excellent to hear!