Flaw in the Preview process

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Acknowledged
A look through Preview requires saving the site file. Frequently tweaks are made to try and produce a better look or addition but when the addition is not what you want, you cannot revert to the previous view. It requires that you re-discover the "previous" by going through the original placements again. Saving obliterates this possibility

A Preview should be just that; a facility to view the site before a commitment is made or not.
Photo of Gop

Gop

  • 7473 Posts
  • 2115 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Phil Taylor

Phil Taylor

  • 20 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
I agree . I use this feature in the way Gop has described, and although I had not noticed this shortfall, I can see that it will be troublesome at times.
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Thanks for your feedback Gop and Phil. I am happy to pass this on to our engineers, but just to clarify, this is not a change to how the Sitebuilder has always functioned. In our previous design saving was also required prior to viewing the website in preview mode.
Photo of Gop

Gop

  • 7473 Posts
  • 2115 Reply Likes
I know and it was flawed then.  “this is the way it has previously been done”— is not a reason, it is an absence of a reason.

Evolution?
(Edited)
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Hi Gop,

I thought you were indicating that this was a new problem based on our updates, apologies for misunderstanding. Our team has discussed the functionality of how save and preview should work at length. Happy to add this feedback to the discussion as well.