Google Custom Search - Wont return the search correctly, why?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 8 years ago
I am having bother getting Google Custom Search to work with my website: www.modelshowcasing.co.uk If you search for Leeds or Bristol etc in the search box it should return all the models from those locations, howver it does not. I have had the site running since Christmas (8 months) and I can search on the web for all of the models individually so why is it not working? Anyone any ideas?
Photo of chrisandwretch

chrisandwretch

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 8 years ago

  • 1
Photo of jeremy

jeremy, Employee

  • 1349 Posts
  • 90 Reply Likes
Hi there,

When I searched for "leeds" on your site I got this result:

As far as I am aware your models will need to be indexed in Google and tagged appropriately for the site search to pick them up.

I hope this helps.
Photo of chrisandwretch

chrisandwretch

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi, I found a better company than Google to use and it worked first time, this issue can be closed as far as I am concerned.
Photo of Nazlie

Nazlie

  • 1721 Posts
  • 51 Reply Likes
Hi Chris

Thank you for letting us know that you have solved your problem! That is great news.

If you won't mind sharing with us which company you have used to do internal site searches, we would love to hear. I am sure that a few others will find this information valuable.

Nazlie
Photo of INDI

INDI

  • 189 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
I would have definately been interested to know myself :( The Google one sux.....
Photo of chrisandwretch

chrisandwretch

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Try freefind.com - awesome product and miles more customizable than google search. Plus it works too!