HELP- Please say you can help me

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 9 years ago
  • Answered
I have a major problem. My son got ahold of my computer and deleted the site that i have been working on. Is there any way to retrieve it? I have been working on this site for a while and have been constantly adding merchandise to it over the last week. I really dont want to have to do it over.
Photo of Savannah

Savannah

  • 77 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • upset

Posted 9 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Monique

Monique, VP of Customer Support

  • 6294 Posts
  • 446 Reply Likes
Hi Savannah

If your site is really deleted, I am afraid I do not have good news for you. Once a site is deleted from our system there is no way to restore it.

I realize that this must be devastating news after all the hard work you have put in! Please email us at support@synthasite.com so that we can check if the site really has been deleted.
Photo of Cosmic Sensorium

Cosmic Sensorium

  • 102 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
Hey - this is sort of related: does it help to download your site and keep it as backup in case something like this happens? I back it up everytime I make a major update... but I've not seen anything in the builder that indicates that I would be able upload my site again and keep working. Thanks!
Photo of Monique

Monique, VP of Customer Support

  • 6294 Posts
  • 446 Reply Likes
You are correct - once you download your site there is no mechanism by which you could upload it again. However, it is good practice to download your site and keep it as a back up as this would provide a point of reference in reconstructing your site should anything untoward happen. From our side we have backups of all our data, so in that sense sites are completely secure, but once a site is deleted form the user's end it is permanently removed from our database.
Photo of Chris_1111

Chris_1111

  • 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
What Monique just said doesn't really make sense. If you back-up your database, then the site is still there in whatever form it was at the time of the last back-up. Just because it has been removed from the live database, doesn't mean it has also been deleted from the back-up media. If it's company policy to make no effort at restoration due to a customer mistake, then I would have to question corporate ethics. I realize that Synthasite can't keep doing this over and over for customers on a free site, but I don't think this type of thing happens all that often. Remember the golden rule.

If you have an algorithm to synchronize and delete all backup media simultaneously, then perhaps Synthasite could configure a 24-hour delay in deletion for this very purpose.
Photo of Savannah

Savannah

  • 77 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
How do i download my site?
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Hi Savannah,

In order to download your site: click on the drop down arrow next to the yellow "Publish My Site" button, and then click on "download site".

Your site will be downloaded as a zipped file and you can save it on a CD.