How do I move my site to another hosting account?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Answered
First I want to say that I love Yola, and I have started my online business using Yola. But the problem I am having is that I cannot access all of the site code in order to fix errors. Also, there are other issues. Someone that helps with SEO is having trouble crawling my page from time to time, and we are afraid that Google may also have problems.

Is Yola blocking crawlers for some reason?

I need a way to move this one siteto another hosting account such as Media Temple. I am not sure how to do this. I understand if I cannot use the template, and that is ok. I just need the file that I can give to Media Temple. I do not want to cancel my account with Yola though. I want to use Yola for other projects.

The site I want to move is my business, and I need it moved in order to continue my business. Please someone help me with this. I am willing to pay an extra fee if need be.
Photo of Daniel

Daniel

  • 13 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Gop

Gop

  • 7473 Posts
  • 2115 Reply Likes
Hi Daniel,

It is worrying when you see errors associated with your site and realise that you don't have access to those parts of the website. A few people have had the same misgivings. Yola's staff have addressed these issues on this forum at some stage and reassured the users that the errors really are of no consequence to function or SEO. The fact that there are a number of moderate and higher ranking yola built sites would add to that conclusion.

Yola doesn't block the crawlers. Sometimes there may be timeouts presumably due to development and many of us have seen error reports in our webmasters and have enquired. The advice has been to see if they cleared in the next crawl and they have except for the user errors. I think that you can be fairly sure that Yola sites are SEO friendly and get into serps noticeably depending of course on content above all.

The issue about downloading the site is a sore point for many. It is generally for the reason of wanting to transfer the site to another place as you have explained or for a sense of security to have a copy isolated from the system itself. Unfortunately this isn't available at this time and I hope it does become a feature again in the future.