I had user/password on my site ,why does Yola not ask for the site protection user/password each time the page is refreshed ?

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 9 years ago
  • Answered
I had user/password on my site ,why does Yola not ask for the site protection user/password each time the page is refreshed ?
I have not saved any password info in IE. Once the user has been authenticated once on a PC it seems never to ask again, even if the IE session is closed and then reopened.
Photo of Fc3838c

Fc3838c

  • 16 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 9 years ago

  • 2
Photo of lambofgod

lambofgod

  • 875 Posts
  • 35 Reply Likes
I believe Yola saves it has a cookie or your browser does automatically. So that way it is easier for it to enter next time.
Photo of Fc3838c

Fc3838c

  • 16 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I had user/password on my site ,why does Yola not ask for the site protection user/password each time the page .
Is there a way to setup, so people need to sign in User/password each time to visit my page .
Photo of jeremy

jeremy, Employee

  • 1349 Posts
  • 90 Reply Likes
Hi there Fc3838c,

LambofGod is right,

With the password protection feature, when a visitor to your site enters the username and password this will put a cookie on their browser that will store the username and password so they don't have to enter it again the next time. Anytime someone accesses the password protected page from a computer that has never accessed the page before, they will be prompted for the username and password.

What you can do if you want to have the password and username reset each time someone leaves the site is have them clear the cache. Here is a link with more information on how to do this: Clear Browser Cache
Photo of Fc3838c

Fc3838c

  • 16 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Because I had just closed the webpage , my son re-open the webpage again without use/password .
Photo of jeremy

jeremy, Employee

  • 1349 Posts
  • 90 Reply Likes
Closing a webpage doesn't delete the cookie that the website places on the computer. You need to manually clear it in your settings. You can see how to do this in the link I posted above.
Photo of Fc3838c

Fc3838c

  • 16 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Is means all the people after frist time login , they don't need to do it again?
Photo of jeremy

jeremy, Employee

  • 1349 Posts
  • 90 Reply Likes
If they don't clear their cookies then, yes they will be able to access your site again.
You can however change your password as often as you want and then they will have to enter the new password.

To change your password you assigned to your website:

1. Log in to your Yola account and open your site.
2. Click on the "Site Manager" tab.
3. Click on "Site Password Protection".
4. A dialog box will open up and you will be able to see what Log in ID and password you assigned to your site. You can change it there.

If you make any changes to the Login ID and password, remember to update your site to make this change effective on the live version of your site.

I hope this helps.
Photo of Fc3838c

Fc3838c

  • 16 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I had done all that , than my friend open my webpage , login...
her son open the webpage did not need to login again.
I thought each time , someone open my webpage , the need to login again, right ?
Photo of Fc3838c

Fc3838c

  • 16 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
ok thanks
Photo of nick

nick

  • 154 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Well i found out by updating site and if they didn't have the browser save the login info it will ask them for it again. If they saved it it will ask them to hit submit again. But as answered above change login info.