IT IS DONE!!!! Please, I really need your constructive criticism!

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 9 years ago
  • Answered
My "store" is finally done! I would really like your constructive criticism on how the site is laid out. In particular, can you please look at

1. My "pop-up" menu when you hover over the "Store"

2. My catalogue

3. My product list.

4. My navigation menu

Since this store is a "business" - I really need to ensure it comes across as being professional and aesthetically looks pleasing to the eye. Is there anything I need to add or remove? Your comments/criticism will really help me to improve.

Here's my site:

http://dejavuapparel.info
or
http://dejavuapparel.yolasite.com
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
  • nervous but happy!

Posted 9 years ago

  • 1
Photo of UK Duke

UK Duke, Champion

  • 3321 Posts
  • 213 Reply Likes
I just want to say before i have a really good look at it - WOW

This is THE cleanest looking Yola site i have ever seen.

The /store page left menu is amazing - i was almost drueling on my keyboard.

WOW - WOW - WOW

unbeliveable - Lee.
Photo of UK Duke

UK Duke, Champion

  • 3321 Posts
  • 213 Reply Likes
@ Yola employees - You have to have this as a featured site - it shows what is possible with Yola - Its a credit to Yola and Littleus.

Add a comment if you agree that this should be a featured site.

Lee.
Photo of Connor McCarra

Connor McCarra, Champion

  • 944 Posts
  • 47 Reply Likes
Yes it should be featured! Also your site and Boomer's should all be featured!
Photo of Connor McCarra

Connor McCarra, Champion

  • 944 Posts
  • 47 Reply Likes
Though it's up to the webmaster to submit it to be featured not the Yola employees I think.
Photo of UK Duke

UK Duke, Champion

  • 3321 Posts
  • 213 Reply Likes
Ive often wondered how that works -
My site is not in a situation im happy with - maybe in a month or 2 and i think Boomer would tell you the same thing.

2 votes
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Wow.. thanks for your words of affirmation Duke. I'd be honoured if it were a featured site. Yours should definitely be one too!
Photo of Monique

Monique, VP of Customer Support

  • 6294 Posts
  • 446 Reply Likes
Agree that Littleus's site should be featured. Boomer's Helderberg site is also on the list for a possible featured site but we are waiting for him to develop it first. Lee: we were going to feature yours soon as well. It looks well developed enough to us! But if you really want us to wait a bit, let us know when you would be ready for us to include it. How featured sites work: our marketing team combs through the published sites to look for great examples. People from the company can also make suggestions. So if we see a great looking site here in Get Satisfaction we send marketing the link and it gets added to the list. We have already sent several of your sites in as candidates, but the support team don't make the final decision on which ones get featured when.
Photo of UK Duke

UK Duke, Champion

  • 3321 Posts
  • 213 Reply Likes
@ Littleus - The Faq page is really nice but its not obvious to click the stars - i think you should either add a small peice of code to make the cursor change into a hand (like normal links) or add a mouse over effect to it or add a hover tilte - 'click here'

My web cafe credit is running low - i could look at this site all day - I will try to look through more later or tomorrow.

Well done Littleus, really really well done.

Lee.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
I do have a little blurb at the top saying to click on the star to reveal the answer. Perhaps as you say, it is not obvious. I like your idea of a tooltip. I may try to implement that. Thanks!
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hey Lee

I've tried adding the tooltip but it does not seem to work with the existing javascript I have for the expand/collapse. I even looked into making the cursor change over to a hand, but all the codes I found work with links, which mine aren't. Do you have any ideas or suggestions?
Photo of Connor McCarra

Connor McCarra, Champion

  • 944 Posts
  • 47 Reply Likes
Hey littleus,

Very good work I must say!

I noticed the "pop-up" menu when you hover over the "Store" wasn't transparent, I would try to make it transparent if possible as it would look better.

The catalogue is easily navigated and fast. Very good.

The product list I liked, I wasn't expecting the amount of products that could be hid under that tab!

The Navigation menu does what it should, navigate! It's fast and easy so I can't complain.

One thing though I did notice I was taken to another site while navigating the store and I didn't see any link back to your site, could put customers off.

Connor
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hi Connor

Thanks for bringing to my attention about the pop-up menu. I can't remember if I explored trying to make the background transparent and it didn't work. I'll have to explore this again.

Can you please tell me what happened when you were navigating the store and you were taken to a different site? What site was this? Any external links should have opened up in a new window or tab. I have a little blurb saying that this would occur.
Photo of Connor McCarra

Connor McCarra, Champion

  • 944 Posts
  • 47 Reply Likes
I think I was brought to JAlbum?
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Thanks Connor for letting me know! I didn't realize that occurred. I definitely agree that this needs to be rectified. I just hope I can!
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Just to let you know, I was able to fix this! Yay!!! =) Thanks again for pointing this out to me.
Photo of Peter

Peter

  • 2569 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes
Hi littleus,

Congratulations on this production. It looks wonderful.

The aesthetics. So clean so crisp. Obvious to the browser. I enjoy browsing the site. I enjoy the innovations and they don't distract. They are 100% functional and make the whole browsing experience very pleasant.

For the rest of the review, I really tried to look at this as a general customer.

Your catalogue is intuitive, descriptive and clear. All the products are well displayed and very well photographed. I feel that a potential buyer would have reasonable confidence that the products are likely to be as true to the image as they are shown.

The back navigation in the catalogue works well. (one thing i noticed that you may not be aware of is at your first category the pink up arrow takes you to an entrance to your album.)

The pop-up on the shopping cart of your store works well. It's a good feature.

There is no upsell or evidence of expediency. I feel the perfect balance. You've made yourself accessible and personable. Everything about it says trust and quality.

The words CASH ONLY I feel are out of character with the rest of the mood of the site. They're really strong words but they are an important aspect of your business. That may have an off-putting affect on some people. I think a low likelihood, but possible. You would be able to think of a more personable phrase I think that would get the message across. (Once they meet you the words are forgotten)
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Thanks Peter for your thoughtful analysis. Truly appreciated. I will definitely re-word that "Cash Only" to make it sound more personable.

Connor has just made me aware of that pink arrow taking me back to JAlbum. I didn't realize that this happens. I'm hoping to be able to rectify this. I've contact the JAlbum support to see what can be done. I really hope something can be done. If it can't - grrrr... that means I'm gonna have to start doing something else for my catalogue! Uggh... Okay..positive thoughts, positive thoughts!
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hey Peter!

Positive thoughts worked! Yay!! I was able to remove that link back to my hosted album on JAlbum. The support there is almost as good as ours here! =)
Photo of Peter

Peter

  • 2569 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes
That's fantastic littleus. I know you loathe backlinks interrupting the flow of your design almost as much as you hate being directed away without warning. I was hesitant to raise it but now glad you've found away.

That's good to hear about JAlbum. Helpfulness is so important with these specialised products. Not really a feature of the big big image service providers.
Photo of Monique

Monique, VP of Customer Support

  • 6294 Posts
  • 446 Reply Likes
I agree with everyone's comments here.

You really have done an amazing job. The navigation on your site is one of the best I have seen. Hours and hours of custom coding must have gone into it! Your tooltips are also great.

I am truly impressed that you have been quietly working on such a work of art while helping so many other people here in GS.

Very exciting!
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Thanks Monique for taking the time to check out my site. It means a lot to me to know that Yola does care! =)
Photo of Monique

Monique, VP of Customer Support

  • 6294 Posts
  • 446 Reply Likes
Submitted your site to the featured site list. Holding thumbs that it shows up on our website one of these days!
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Oh wow, Monique! I am very flattered that you have done this. It really is a joint partnership between Yola, myself and all the people who have helped me along the way. Thanks!
Photo of KanThaiDecor

KanThaiDecor

  • 2402 Posts
  • 263 Reply Likes
Great job ! I was thinking about what Peter is saying about CASH ONLY.....If you do not ship the proper accepted term is Cash and Carry.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Thanks for the correct term John. I'm just wondering how you would use that term in a phrase?
Photo of KanThaiDecor

KanThaiDecor

  • 2402 Posts
  • 263 Reply Likes
This is why my place is perfect! You will find that these clothes are in good condition and come from a pet-free, smoke-free home. Most importantly, the Cash and Carry price is right! .....If they don't know what it means most will ask.....It really is a term aimed more at wholesalers but became very common at the advent of credit cards being used by consumers en masse. In the early days many places were not set up to accept them yet and were a Cash and Carry business....I was surfing the web a bit to see how others are using the term on their sites....It seems with the current credit crisis the term is making a comeback with companies offering a discount on a Cash and Carry price.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Thanks John for sharing that. I will have to thoughtfully consider if that terminology fits in what I am really trying to convey. I appreciate your perspective on this matter.
Photo of ken

ken

  • 178 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
posted a comment
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hi Ken!

Thanks for your kind words!! =)
Photo of Boomer

Boomer, Champion

  • 2055 Posts
  • 84 Reply Likes
Wow LittleMiss ;-)

What more can I say that hasn't already been said above.
Crisp, Clean, Colourfull, Creative... all the "c's". I'll give you an "A"
though, maybe two, Absolutley Amazing.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hey Boomer!

Thanks so much for your uplifting words! I couldn't have done it without people like you! =)
Photo of Lily

Lily

  • 84 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Liitleus
An amazing site, I love the pop menu when you hover over the store button
Amazing. Also thank you for helping me with my site.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Thanks Gypsy! I really appreciate hearing your positive comments!
Photo of Jon Hoffman

Jon Hoffman

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
how did you do the pop menu using yola??
Photo of Rizan

Rizan

  • 219 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
So nice and clean, boomer is right about all the C's. And I love how fast your links are. I did just send you an email.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hey Rizan =) Thanks for the positive feedback. I'll take a look at the email and get back to you.
Photo of Kent T Carter

Kent T Carter

  • 230 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
Very nice any well displayed! 10! But I see an error for something at to center of page you might want to check out.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hi Kent.

I'm not seeing any error but that may be because I've been staring at my site so long that everything kinda blurs together. Can you please give me specifics as to what this error is and where you see it? I'd really appreciate it.
Photo of Rizan

Rizan

  • 219 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I don't see one either, unless Kent is referring to the local play center then below are the centers???
Photo of KanThaiDecor

KanThaiDecor

  • 2402 Posts
  • 263 Reply Likes
Maybe it is this....I only see it like this on Firefox
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Oh.. that is very strange! I am also on FF (v. 3.0.8) but this is what I see:



Can anyone else tell me if they're seeing John's image or my image on their browser?
Photo of KanThaiDecor

KanThaiDecor

  • 2402 Posts
  • 263 Reply Likes
Maybe it is a matter of screen resolution? I am set at 1280 x 1024
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
That was a good idea John, but, I don't believe this is the case. I adjusted the screen resolution to your size and the text was still contained in the box.
Photo of Rizan

Rizan

  • 219 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I dont see this on FF but when I log on with IE I have the same image as above, additionaly in IE your top pics arent scrolling but they are in FF. The pics I get are from the little sandles to the jeans.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Thanks for letting me know Rizan! I shoulda checked in IE. I know better than that! =) I'm fine with it not scrolling in IE.. which is why I only have a certain number of pictures. But, I do need to work on that box then.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Okay.. so I checked out my site on IE.. strangely enough, the box is still fine for me! This is the screenshot of what I have in IE7.



But I'm not happy with my scrolling bar thing - not that it doesn't scroll, but it appears to be cut off on the bottom. Also, nav menu images are not coming up very nicely. They look distorted and weird. Ugggh... how can I make it look nice in both browsers???
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Monique.. I don't think my site should be submitted at all for a feature site now. It looked so nice in FF but in IE.. eeeewww! I just wish that that all the programmers would put their heads together and make all the browsers friendly with each other.
Photo of KanThaiDecor

KanThaiDecor

  • 2402 Posts
  • 263 Reply Likes
.All looks fine on IE and Chrome for me other than not scrolling on IE.
Photo of Monique

Monique, VP of Customer Support

  • 6294 Posts
  • 446 Reply Likes
I understand. We can hold off a little bit and hopefully a solution can be found for IE. Even our developers have a difficult time debugging IE issues (I hope they don't mind me outing them). It is a really difficult browser to code for. Believe, me we feel your pain!
Photo of Peter

Peter

  • 2569 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes

IE7




Chrome 1.0




Flock




FireFox 3




Safari


Hi littleus,

I'm sure yo're feeling frustrated and disappointed. Your design still remains as we've all said. Wonderful. It looks great in 4 out of 5 browsers and the solution will happen in IE, I'm confident.

In a big sense it's really only one issue and that is straight optimisation with IE. At the end of the day your satisfaction will resume and it will still be the same great creation and better, i daresay, but don't know how it could be.

Great luck Littleus.
Photo of Kent T Carter

Kent T Carter

  • 230 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
See the X in box in top frame of peters images, fo some reason I cannot add a picture. Maybe only for my graphics card.
Photo of UK Duke

UK Duke, Champion

  • 3321 Posts
  • 213 Reply Likes
Hi Littleus - this passage of text does not read exactly correct


It should read Once you've entered the store
or
Once you enter the store.

Not a big thing but you may as well change it.

Lee.
Photo of UK Duke

UK Duke, Champion

  • 3321 Posts
  • 213 Reply Likes
Ref# the FAQ page we discussed above - have you tried to add title="click here" to the img tag - that should do it.

If i remember correctly you can add a title to the image.

Lee.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hey Lee

Thanks for the tip about the passage! I will definitely change that.

I've tried adding the title="click here" to the image. It does work but it renders my expand/collapse inoperable.
Photo of UK Duke

UK Duke, Champion

  • 3321 Posts
  • 213 Reply Likes
even if you add it after the onclick= ?
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
ahhh.. that was the problem! I was adding it before the onclick= Thanks soo much Lee!!!! =)
Photo of UK Duke

UK Duke, Champion

  • 3321 Posts
  • 213 Reply Likes
glad to be of service. :)
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
I think was able to fix the images and the scrolling images at the top to look good in IE! Would someone mind taking a look to see how the site presents in IE or other browsers?

The only other thing that's outstanding are my tooltips.

For some reason, I cannot get them to work in IE. Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks everyone who gave me such great advice and were willing to troubleshoot my site. I really appreciate it.
Photo of Rizan

Rizan

  • 219 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Scrolling is working in IE. Not sure if you mentioned the outfits in the box, the red shirt box has the word "shirts" just below box and the pic of the 2 piece outfit is still out of kilter.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hi Rizan

Can you please tell me what version of IE you are using? I don't t see that in my version of IE. Just wondering! Thanks!
Photo of Rizan

Rizan

  • 219 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
would love to tell you the version if only I knew and I dont know where to find it....hehe
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Find the "help" button on your IE toolbar and click on it. Then go down to "About Internet Explorer". A little window will pop up and it will tell you what version you have.
Photo of Peter

Peter

  • 2569 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes
Hi Littleus,

Relieved? I bet.

IE7; FF3; Chrome1.0; Flock 4; Safari

All show perfect smooth scrolling of your product banner. IE displays a vertical bottom alignment the others display as centered vetical alignment
All icons are perfectly rendered in all browsers which was previously not so in IE.
Text is within each box, there's nothing showing out of the boxes.
The bottom level of community adds are poorly rendered in IE and a little bit in Flock.

Drop out sub menu in catalogue is OK. A bit "bouncy" but functional.

Tootlips: are you using java for this?
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hi Peter

Yes.. definitely am relieved. =)

I forgot about the community ads! Thanks for that reminder.

As for the "drop out sub menu in catalogue" - are you talking about the "pop up" menu when you click on my "store" button?

Tooltips - I used the code from Dynamic Drive.
Photo of Peter

Peter

  • 2569 Posts
  • 113 Reply Likes
Yep. The pop up menu.

The DD I'm sure is java. I know there's a pure CSS around. Not sure where but developed for IE (5.5+) I think.

Having big probs with the builder at the moment white screens the strange menu alignment. I think my builder is on another server but not sure. Don't know why it's happening
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
I'm sorry that you're having problems with the builder Peter. How frustrating! Hopefully, by now, It has been resolved.