Lost info when killing a page?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 8 years ago
  • Answered
Will I lose information when I kill a page once it becomes unresponsive?
Photo of JamesW

JamesW

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 8 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hello JamesW

When you say "kill a page" - I assume you mean you wish to delete the page? If you do delete this page, then you will lose the information. If you do not republish your site, then you can grab the latest information from your published site by copying the text and pasting into NotePad. Then, you can copy from NotePad back into your Sitebuilder. I know that this is less than ideal but I hope you can work with this.

Alternatively, if your page becomes unresponsive, you can try changing your layout to help break what sounds like invalid coding. Often changing to a 3 column layout or 3-over-1 layout will break the page, allowing you access so that you can remove the errors.
Photo of JamesW

JamesW

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks Sanja, I already figured it out but if it did happen again in the future there is a window that pops up when a page becomes unresponsive during editing. It promps to either wait for the page to respond or "kill the page" Just curious whether or not I would loose information if I choose to "kill the page" rather then waiting for it to respond. Thanks