Lost Text by Clicking 'Preview'

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
I just finished typing a paragraph within a text widget. I clicked PREVIEW to see how it would look on the site, then i got a message from Google Chrome (my web browser) asking if i wanted to leave, or stay on the site. I clicked stay and my website loaded, but the text changes i had been working on were not there. I just spent a long hour crafting and proofreading this paragraph and now its gone. Help!
Photo of Jairo Brito

Jairo Brito

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Hi Jairo,

I am so sorry to hear your work was lost. It sounds like your browser session may have timed out which can happen after a long stretch of inactivity. Unfortunately there is not a way to recover your text. In the future you may find it helpful to compose your copy in a plain text editor such as Text Edit or NotePad and then move it over to your Sitebuilder. It's always advisable to work "offline" for long editorial projects and also to save the file and keep it as a back up.

I know this does not help you in the moment but I do hope it helps you going forward. I for one am keenly aware of my own advice above and yet have lost numerous lengthy email replies or blog posts in similar situations and I know how maddening it can be.