Make sure domain points to correct Yola site

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Answered
I have two sites on Yola, one published and the other unpublished. #1 has a domain name, and I'd like to point (not transfer) my other domain name to site #2, while staying with my old host. I have the Silver package. When the only info I have is Yola's IP address, how can I make sure my second domain name is going to the correct site on Yola? I.e. Make sure it doesn't override the domain name for the site I've already published?
Photo of stonesings

stonesings

  • 61 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 7 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Stefan

Stefan, Official Rep

  • 4448 Posts
  • 190 Reply Likes
Hello stonesings

If you are a Yola Silver customer, you can point multiple external domains to your Yola websites. All you need to do is publish your site #2 to that second domain name that you have with another provider. You just have to do what you did to point your site #1: Create the A records with your host for your second domain name, and then publish your site #2 to that second domain name by clicking on the green Publish to the Web button in the Sitebuilder of site #2 and selecting the pointing option. There will be no override of your first domain name.

Here is the link to our tutorial: Publish to a domain you already own

Please let me know if you should have any problems with this.
Photo of stonesings

stonesings

  • 61 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Stefan, Thanks, but actually I didn't do this with site #1; I did a domain transfer. I went to my provider and tried to follow Yola's instructions in the tutorial. They don't accept IP address to create A records. They want name servers.
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hello stonesings,

Yola does not have name servers. If your domain registrar is not able to change A records, you may want to consider using ZoneEdit to help point your domain to Yola.
Photo of stonesings

stonesings

  • 61 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Sanja, shortly after posting your reply, you emailed me to say Yola's DNS team was working on the issue for me. I sent you the analysis from NameCheap, which showed Yola has bad nameservers. This company has been nothing but honest with me since I began buying domains since 2005.

Tuesday, Nov. 29, You promised me the DNS team would contact me within 48 hours. It is now 72 hours. I have paid Yola for a Silver package, trusting I would be able to get my small businesses up and running for the Christmas rush. I am furious. Every day I put aside many hours to work on my business, and most of it is related to my websites. My marketing materials have my website name, but I can't distribute them, or use social media properly. I am unable to configure my Paypal account to reflect my website name.

I also exchanged several emails with Yola, asking for my Facebook credits. I've been sent wrong receipts, told to look in my Spam folder, etc. I still don't have them. Just send me the credits, please!

WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO PROVIDE CUSTOMER SERVICE?
Photo of Sanja

Sanja, Official Rep

  • 10698 Posts
  • 495 Reply Likes
Hello stonesings,

I apologize if you feel that we are not providing you with quality customer service. There is a number of things at play here. This does not provide an excuse, but as an explanation for why I believe things have taken the road it did.

I do see that your ticket was escalated on Nov. 29th to the DNS queue. We are currently backlogged at the moment and as result, we are not able to answer the tickets as quickly as we would like. We are trying our best to get to all the tickets in a timely manner. I will be happy to bring this to the DNS Team attention.

Another issue is that I believe there is confusion between your initial email and this forum post. If you have a domain you purchased elsewhere, then you do need to use A records to point your domain to Yola. If your domain registrar does not allow A records, then you need to use ZoneEdit as suggested above to help you facilitate this.

As for your FB credits, I have just sent you a new email with the FB code and instructions.

If there is anything else we can do to assist, please let us know.
Photo of stonesings

stonesings

  • 61 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Sanja, I don't understand. Why has it taken an exchange of eight emails and a full week just to finally receive an email with my FB credits code, and instructions how to use it? In the interim, you send me a number of frustrating emails that contained no useful information. If a customer has a problem, solve it!

I did use A records. My Namehost was not able to point to Yola because the problem is on your end. As I said, I sent you their analysis of the problem. It was you, Sanja, that promised resolution by Dec. 1st. Normally, when a company can't fulfill a promise on time, they at least contact the customer and say so. "We are trying our best," is not a legitimate justification for wasting more of a customer's time. This is costing me huge delays in launching my businesses, as well as more time and frustration writing to Yola and not receiving true assistance.

Please, I must request you not email me insulting language such as in your email: "I apologize if you feel that we are not providing you with quality customer service." This is neither an apology, nor helpful. It puts the onus on ME for my justified and genuine feelings of distress at legitimate frustrations with poor service!

There is no "confusion" between my email and my initial post. Again, you are putting the onus on me for poor service. It is a tricky way to say I am "confused." I am certainly not! I followed Yola's tutorial with my Namehost to a "t." I printed it off and followed step by step. I asked their staff for assistance, telling them what I'd done. Their analysis is what I sent you. PLEASE PROVIDE TRUE CUSTOMER SERVICE, NOT BLAME AND EXCUSES.
Photo of jeremy

jeremy, Employee

  • 1349 Posts
  • 90 Reply Likes
Hello Stonesings,

I am sorry you have had a bad experience - Your DNS email should have been dealt with sooner. I have now replied to your ticket.

With regard to your issue, As Sanja said, If you are not able to add A records to your domain then you will need to use a third party service like Zone Edit to add A records as we do not support people adding Nameservers to their domains as a way of pointing to us. It is not that we have "bad" Nameservers, it is that we require of you to use A records to point instead.

As Sanja said we have a tutorial on using Zone Edit to create new Nameservers for your domain here: Zone Edit

I hope this helps and again, I am sorry for the late response.
Photo of stonesings

stonesings

  • 61 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Jeremy, thanks. I got so fed up, I used a domain credit to buy a .ca instead of the .com I'd paid for at Namecheap. I can't believe the waste of time and energy. I've had to rewrite my marketing materials, with the new name, for just one example. I certainly would have tried ZoneEdit earlier. But Sanja emailed me on Tuesday, and promised DNS management would help me. So I waited. And waited. Unable to proceed with my marketing plan.

Today I realized Yola was just not going to keep their word. I tried ZoneEdit, step by step as outlined. The Yola placeholder page didn't appear, so I caved and got the new .ca suffix. Had a lovely Sunday changing my materials.

How does Yola compensate people for not providing the support we've paid for?
Photo of Jackie

Jackie

  • 640 Posts
  • 35 Reply Likes
Hi stonesings,

Once again please accept our apologies for the delay in coming back to your domain pointing query. We would be more than happy to provide you with compensation for the issues that you have experienced, and I will send you a separate email with our proposal for compensation.

We understand that you have purchased a new .ca domain to use so that you can get your site online, and you can still point your external .com domain to Yola using ZoneEdit if you wish. If you are experiencing problems with pointing your domain using the steps provided please let us know and we will help you.

You will then be able to publish your site to both your .ca and .com domain in the event that your customers use either extension. Please see our Tutorial: Assigning domains and creating a primary domain for more information.

Please let us know if you have any further questions. I will be in touch by email shortly.

Thanks,
Jackie