Message if our account is in use in another location

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 8 years ago
  • Under Consideration
Hi, it would be neat if there was a notification that popped up telling us "This account is currently being used in one other location at IP {ip-address-here}" and then it could say "Log out of other account" Just like in Gmail. It has a thing at the bottom saying if somebody else has our account open up. This would be good so we can click the link to log them out before somebody get in our website and mess it up or even worst - delete it! So, that is why it would be great if this was a feature. It could be like at the top of the screen and it could fade in if it was opened up in the site builder & My Yola.

Thanks so much,
Nathan
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
  • confident

Posted 8 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jean

Jean

  • 134 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
Maybe I'm misunderstanding your question, Nathan, but why would your account be "currently being used in one other location?" Do you mean that someone else is signed into your account with your username and password? If so, wouldn't you know who that was?

It could well be that I don't get what you mean.
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
Hi Jean S, what I mean is if somebody got into our account. It would be a good feature. Like, if we did not know it and they got into it and did a bunch of stuff.

--
Nathan
Photo of Nazlie

Nazlie

  • 1721 Posts
  • 51 Reply Likes
Hi Nathan

Thank you for your suggestion! It is a good one and I will pass it on to product team for consideration.

Jean S. thanks so much for your input too. It's definitely something to think about.

I hope others give input and feedback on this thread.

Nazlie
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
Thank you Nazlie! :)
Photo of Callum

Callum

  • 357 Posts
  • 32 Reply Likes
It sounds a bit like Facebook, when someone logs in to your account without permission, and when you log on from your normal location, it tells you someone has logged in from that location at whatever time, and asks you to change your password. That'd be great on Yola!
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
It is also like Gmail / Google Apps:



I had my account open in 2 different browsers and it showed this message.

Sincerely,
Nathan
Photo of KanThaiDecor

KanThaiDecor

  • 2402 Posts
  • 263 Reply Likes
Could be very annoying if you have employees that maintain your company site from different computers.
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
Another thing could be where you can turn that feature on or off. So, like John, if you have other people maintain it you can just turn it off.

Sincerely,
Nathan
Photo of KanThaiDecor

KanThaiDecor

  • 2402 Posts
  • 263 Reply Likes
Actually Nathan I think some companies would be willing to pay extra for a multiple user ability for site builder....They might have to pay extra for a dedicated server for it to work but for some it would be worth it.
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
Hi, what I mean is turn off the notification thing. Also, the reason why I want this is because if somebody gets our password somehow they can really mess up our account. But, I know that some people would like to do that. But, what my idea is that a notification box when your account is open in another location and then a setting to turn it on or off.
Photo of KanThaiDecor

KanThaiDecor

  • 2402 Posts
  • 263 Reply Likes
I know Nathan....I think it is a great idea if refined properly and can maybe even be expanded upon.