My site has been destroyed because of an error in the Site Tracking code

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Acknowledged
Well, there are some bad parts of the new Site Settings. I was putting in some code, and I went back to site settings by accident in the middle. I was in the middle of typing the JS code, and then it saved it. Now, my whole site is messed up and there is no way for me to edit the Site Tracking code.

I'm remaking the site (thank god I didn't publish it - the online version is still good)

It was a jQuery Lightbox Plugin and I was making, and now I have to redo the site. At least I can copy the code so I didn't loose my whole jQuery code that took days to make (and I'm still making it, too)

My suggestion is that the Site Tracking Code box has a "Save" button instead of automatically saving. I went back to all settings and it saved right then. This is the code I had:


<script type="text/javascript">
$(document).ready(function() {
$(



As you can see, I was in the middle. Since it saved, it destroyed my site and it ruined the Yola site builder Site Tracking code dialog too. (for just that site)

Just wanted to let you guys know about that so you're aware of it — don't want it to happen to anyone else!

Sincerely,
Nathan
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
  • undecided

Posted 7 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Shawn Holman

Shawn Holman

  • 486 Posts
  • 26 Reply Likes
This is not good,
And feel really sorry for my fellow friend, Nathan.

When you guys deleted that save button it has made the site tracking code really un-safe.
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Nathan, this is terrible, we are so sorry to hear this happened to you. Our product team was eager to try a "commit on change" model for the site settings to avoid complications around unsaved changes. We worried the worst side effect would be confusion from users looking to "save" their work, and can honestly say that it didn't occur to us that some people would be coding as they go in this space thus causing such a horrible and unwanted side effect.

We have logged this for our product and engineering team and will keep you updated here.
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
Hi Laura,

Thanks for replying. I didn't know how to save at first right when I looked at it, and I thought when I went back, it would just hide that part and show the settings. What I didn't know is that it saves when you go back.

I still like the auto save feature. But, the bad part is that if there is bad code, it will ruin all pages on your site. (And since this was a script without an ending, it ruined parts of the site builder, too.)

Maybe instead of having auto save, it can have a dialog pop up so when you try to exit the site tracking dialog or go back to all settings without clicking on "Save", it'll say "You have not saved your changes. Are you sure you would like to continue?" similar to the page not saved feature.

Thanks,
Nathan
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
That's one option to look at as opposed to adding the Save button back in. We'll be sure to keep you posted on what our product and engineering teams have to say and how they decide to proceed.
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
Thanks Laura.
Photo of Shawn Holman

Shawn Holman

  • 486 Posts
  • 26 Reply Likes
See and that's what I love about the yola employees :)
They respond very fast and they always have good news.

Even tho Nathan's is destroyed and can't be restored

But still, Laura,
Thanks very much for the responds.
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
Just want to let you guys know that I have successfully re-built my website and it looks exactly how it did before. Maybe there could just be a little note at the bottom of the tracking code box saying something like "Note: The Site Tracking code will automatically save when you close this dialog or go back to All Settings"

Nathan
Photo of Francois

Francois, Employee

  • 282 Posts
  • 19 Reply Likes
Hi Nathan,

That's really good to hear! I'm glad you got it sorted. I will mention your suggestion to our Product Team.
Photo of Nathan

Nathan, Champion

  • 3739 Posts
  • 307 Reply Likes
Thanks Francois!