Why can't I create a new site???

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Answered
Help...I cannot load a new site. When I click 'create a new site' the next page (pick a style..) is simply white with black boxes and even if i fill in the required boxes, there is no 'proceed' button.
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 8 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Hi Kevin,

I am sorry you are experiencing this issue. When selecting the style there is no "proceed" button. When you hover over the thumbnails you will see a larger image of the style. Simply click on the style to chose that particular style for your site and will be loaded in the Sitebuilder for you. You can then start building your site.



I would also suggesting clearing your cache and trying again if the style gallery is not loading when trying to select a style - (See: http://www.google.com/support/account... for instructions if needed.)
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks for your response Kershnee. It appears that the style gallery is not loading and is still not loading after I clear my cache....thoughts?
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Thanks for clearing your cache. Can you also please try the following:

* Check that you are using an updated version of Flash, click on this link.
* Check your privacy settings. You must accept cookies from Yola. Please click on this link to find instructions for accepting cookies with your browser: Accept cookies.
* Check that your browser is set to enable Javascript. This link has more information on how to check: Enable Javascript.
* Try loading the site in a different browser (eg. Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer).
* Try loading the site on a different computer or network if possible.
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Kershnee,

I performed all of your suggestions but am still having no luck. Nothing seems to be helping. Thoughts again?

Thanks,

Kevin.
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Hi Kevin,

Thanks for trying out those steps. Can you please tell me what browser and version you are using? Also, please can you check that you don't have anything blocking pop-ups.
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Kershnee..

Using Firefox...nothing blocking pop-ups.

This is the error message I'm receiving...

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB6.4; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; AskTbARS/5.8.0.12304)
Timestamp: Wed, 7 Jul 2010 10:13:26 UTC

Message: Syntax error
Line: 1
Char: 1
Code: 0
URI: http://s1.yolacdn.net/V1084670/ide/sc...

Message: Object expected
Line: 490
Char: 5
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/ide/index...

Message: 'Yola' is undefined
Line: 419
Hi Char: 17
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/ide/index...
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Thank you for the error message. I have logged this issue with our engineers and I am just waiting for some feedback from them. I will keep you posted. Thank you for your patience.
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Any feedback yet?
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Hi Kevin - I am sorry this is taking a while to resolve. I have just emailed the engineer for some feedback and will reply to you once I have this. Thank you for your patience.
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Heard anything yet Kershnee...am really needing to get on with some site building!
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Hi Kevin,

My apologies for not replying to you soon. I engineer working on this issue has asked that you please try clearing your again - (See: http://www.google.com/support/account... for instructions if needed.)

Please let me know once this is done and if it fixed the issue.

My apologies again that this is taking so long to resolve.
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
No luck. Tried that and nothing's changed.

When I click on 'create a new site' I am sent to an unformatted white page with black text boxes which I can complete but there is no graphics/buttons etc and nowhere for me to click to proceed. At this point I'm frozen from advancing.
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Thank you Kevin for trying again. I am going to pass this info onto the engineer and will get back to you shortly. Thank you again for your patience.
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Kevin - in the meantime, can I create a new site for you? You can then go in and edit the info.
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Trouble is Kershnee, I already have a few sites and even those I cannot open...I can log in, see them in My Yola but when i click on the one I want to open, all I get is a blank page, a red rectangle with the text 'Opening x Site' and the page freezes, never loads.

Your offer of creating a site for me is generous but I feel it will not work either...:(
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
Hi Kevin - can you please confirm the browser and version you are using? Would you be able to test your site in another browser? Also, please can you check that you are running the latest version of flash.
Photo of smithy

smithy

  • 1222 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
HAY THAT ERROR MESSAGE HE GOT UP. I GOT THAT.
Photo of smithy

smithy

  • 1222 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; Trident/4.0; GTB6.5; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0; CMNTDF; Tablet PC 2.0; OfficeLiveConnector.1.5; OfficeLivePatch.1.3; .NET4.0C)
Timestamp: Wed, 14 Jul 2010 23:01:10 UTC

Message: Access is denied to: http://s1.yolacdn.net/V0010707/templa...
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/sites/S3/...

Message: Access is denied to: http://s1.yolacdn.net/V0010707/templa...
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/sites/S3/...

Message: Access is denied to: http://s1.yolacdn.net/V0010707/templa...
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/sites/S3/...

Message: Access is denied to: http://s1.yolacdn.net/V0010707/templa...
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/sites/S3/...

Message: Access is denied to: http://s1.yolacdn.net/V0010707/templa...
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/sites/S3/...

Message: Access is denied to: http://s1.yolacdn.net/V0010707/templa...
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/sites/S3/...

Message: Access is denied to: http://s1.yolacdn.net/V0010707/templa...
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/sites/S3/...

Message: Access is denied to: http://s1.yolacdn.net/V0010707/templa...
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0
URI: http://sitebuilder.yola.com/sites/S3/...
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Hi Smithy,

Are you having trouble accessing sites in your Sitebuilder as well? Did you review and try any of the troubleshooting tips Kershnee indicated above? We feel strongly this is a browser related cacheing issue, so clearing cache and trying fro an alternate browser are the best first steps to try. Please let us know!
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi again. I've tried to open my sites on a different pc and on that pc I can access them no problem...so...what do you think is the problem with my main pc? I log in as normal, see my list of sites but when I click to open them I get frozen at that point...just a white screen? Any thoughts?
Photo of Kershnee

Kershnee

  • 2087 Posts
  • 152 Reply Likes
HI Kevin,

So it seems that the issue has changed from creating a new site to opening existing sites? Since you are able to access your sites on another pc, it looks like the issue is probably on your main pc.

I would suggest trying out the following:
* Check to see if you are having problems with your network or internet service provider.
* Clear your browser's cache. This link has more information: Clear your browser's cache.
* Check that you are using an updated version of Flash, click on this link.
* Check your privacy settings. You must accept cookies from Yola. Please click on this link to find instructions for accepting cookies with your browser: Accept cookies.
* Check that your browser is set to enable Javascript. This link has more information on how to check: Enable Javascript.
* Try loading the site in a different browser (eg. Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer).
Photo of kevin

kevin

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Kershnee, I'm mentioned it as it might help shed light on the other problem? None of the suggestions above work. I've already tried them before when you mentioned them in one of your first responses.
Photo of Marije

Marije, Official Rep

  • 4636 Posts
  • 237 Reply Likes
Hi Kevin,

Would you mind sending an email to support@yola.com (to my attention). We would like to work on this with you privately and troubleshoot the issue further.
Photo of Filza

Filza

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
me too the same thing!!!!!!!!!!
Photo of Emmy

Emmy

  • 5892 Posts
  • 299 Reply Likes
Hello Fliza,
Can you tell us more about what you are experiencing. What happens when you try to create a new site?

Emmy