Your website design service

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Answered
I wanted to give feedback about your paid-for site building service.
I have to say unfortunately that it is not worth the while at all. What ever was done for me I could have done myself - and better than the "designer".
After giving a basic idea about my business he came up with an impossible design, not at all paying tribute to the business' basic "flavour". I shouldn't have to lead a designer to water. That's not what I'm paying for ....
Then beging able to only request for two revisions, is not fair for a paid-for service. Further I had to ask for additional help later to be able to edit the content because certain features were built in which I could not deal with by myself.
Eventually I changed the design to one of the free designs you provide. In other words I wasted 400$ ... I quite abset about this and I'd appreciate it if you looked into this. My website is www.simransdesignspace.com and I want to ask for some refund.
Rgds,
Simran
Photo of simran090901

simran090901

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • upset

Posted 7 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jackie

Jackie

  • 640 Posts
  • 35 Reply Likes
Hi simran090901,

I am sorry to hear that you are did not enjoy your Yola Premier experience, and that the design did not meet your expectations.

Yola's Terms of Service (http://www.yola.com/terms) state that there is a 30-day money-back guarantee for paid services, however this does not apply to domain name registration, other domain name services, Yola Premier, Fotolia Image credits and for already redeemed credits.

However, I will contact the HP Logoworks designers with your comments, and determine how they would like to resolve your case. I will be in touch as soon as I have an update.

Thanks,
Jackie
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Hi simran090901,

Thanks for your patience while we touched base with your HP Logoworks designer. They sent us this screenshot of the second draft of your website that they created and you approved. It differs dramatically from what you have published now. Is this the version of your website you were unhappy with or are you unsatisfied with the changes you have made to it since? We want to make sure we understand the situation fully, so we appreciate any additional information you can provide about what you don't care for about the website pictured below. We realize design aesthetic is very subjective so please be as specific as possible.

Photo of simran090901

simran090901

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi - I have not heard back from you guys.
I gave an explaination regarding the question you asked - but no answer.
here it is again, in case it wasn't received:
"The version that I hv now I created myself out of your free templates because I was unhappy with the last version I had to accept frm ur designer. The first suggestion he made was completely unacceptable. Then he asked me to send him examples of websites I liked. First, I don't think this is my job. I described the nature of my business and from that he should hv come up with a matching design by himself.
Then he changed the design, but while it was better I still wasn't happy. But then he informed me that the price only allowed 1 change. So I hd no choice but to "accept" it, right?
Then I thought if I make a few changes by myself it might work for a while. But when revisiting the site after a while I really really didn't find it acceptable. So I changed it. So I did all the work after all ....
I hope that makes it clearer"
Photo of Emmy

Emmy

  • 5892 Posts
  • 299 Reply Likes
Hello simran,
Jackie and Laura are not currently online and I would like them to follow up with you as they have been working on your case thus far. I will forward this to them, please give them 24 hours to respond.

Emmy
Photo of Laura Thomas

Laura Thomas, Social Media Coordinator

  • 4536 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
Hi Simran,

First I want to apologize if you contacted us via another method and we did not receive it. We searched through our emails and did not find any correspondence from you.

It is not uncommon to request "inspiration websites" in order to help get a clear understanding of what you had in mind and as you were unsatisfied with the initial design, it seemed an important step to take as the $499 fee cannot include unlimited revisions. You are entitled to 2 revisions with your Yola Premier website however and are under no obligation to accept a website you are unsatisfied with after one revision.

That being said, you did approve the website design above and no further revision was requested from you in your correspondence with your HP Logoworks designer. We do see you have made changes to your website but unfortunately that does not have any impact on the service provided to you originally by HP Logoworks.

Yola's Terms of Service state that there is a 30-day money-back guarantee for paid services, however this does not apply to domain name registration, other domain name services, Yola Premier, Fotolia Image credits and for already redeemed credits.